living in suburb - Reisverslag uit Raglan, Nieuw Zeeland van Hans Worst - WaarBenJij.nu living in suburb - Reisverslag uit Raglan, Nieuw Zeeland van Hans Worst - WaarBenJij.nu

living in suburb

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Hans

14 Juni 2014 | Nieuw Zeeland, Raglan

America..Family...Life Lessons...Kindness

Since Sunday I am based in a suburb of Auckland, with a very kind mother and son (son is 19 and rides the dirt bikes, the waves and during the week hang in trees to cut them down). So outdoor guy, as most people here in NZ.

His mother I met 200 km away from home, when she was partying with colleagues in a pub. On Friday night and Saturday night again, and that was when she told me that she was looking for someone to rent the room. She is really nice, she cooks for me, is going to arrange me a pedal bike and arranged me a laptop already.

NZ looks very similar to America sometimes, although the government here cares a little bit more about the environment. Indeed, a little bit (last year they sold a lot of natural sources to foreign companies, and we all know what that usually means.) But is does look like America, every house here is a house with its own property. As soon as you leave the big city, you don't see row houses. Criminals are being mentioned with their full name. For example, at the moment there is a Dutch guy at the frontpage of a newspaper, who is involved in two deadly car accidents. Name and picture. Kind of weird.

Life Lesson
I started a job on Monday and I quit on Wednesday. Why? Well first of all the travel distance. I travelled on Sunday and that went fine, but in a city with shitty public transport and traffic jams, it took me 2,5 hours one way, while on Sunday it only took me 1 hour. Lesson learned.

Second of all, it was a gut feeling. I could have moved into another room, but certain things weren't right and badly communicated, e.g. my contract was about 50 pages and I had about 20 minutes to sign it. To make a long story short, always go with your gut feeling.

I almost bought a car from a girl whom I thought, she is weird. But I checked her story about the car online via this website, where you can track down the history of every car, as long as you have the license plate number. The website convinced my guts, and 24 hours before the deal, she got a friend to bring a note to my hostel, written by the friend, that she sold the car to someone else. She had my number, why didn't she call me? sheit, indeed, but another lesson learned, go with your gut feeling.

I am starting to like it here, really. The winter is short, July and August. At the moment temperature is about 18 degrees and the sun is still quite intense. And the people are really nice. Strangers will help you right away. In the beginning you think that it is just because you are a traveller, and everything looks better when you are travelling. But the people are really nice here. Imagine a Dutch cashier asking random whether you have plans for the night. It doesn't happen. Imagine a Dutch bus driver walk outside the bus to the busstop, just because you look a bit lost.

  • 26 Juni 2014 - 08:55

    A.J. Kwak:

    cool man! klinkt goed. Foto's?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nieuw Zeeland, Raglan

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

15 Augustus 2014

Titel is de titel

14 Juni 2014

living in suburb

07 Juni 2014

back in auckland

05 Mei 2014

lala

25 April 2014

Skankyville Auckland, couchsurfing in the suburbs
Hans

Hoi. dit is mijn omschrijving.

Actief sinds 14 April 2014
Verslag gelezen: 173
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2961

Voorgaande reizen:

14 April 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: